Fujian Han Chinese originated
from Southern China speaks
the Fujian dialect. It was formed around 1856 to protect
the welfare of the Hokkien community in Penang. In 1948, Hokkien Kongsi
housed at the left wing of the
upper floor of Hock Teik Cheng Sin Temple.
Board of Trustees 2013
The Kongsi is represented by
members from five clans or Kongsi and
they are known in Penang as the
'Big Five Clan Surnames' as below:
Tong Cheah Kongsi
- No. 8 Armenian Street
Tong Khoo Kongsi
- Cannon Square More
Tong Lim Kongsi
- Ah Quee Street
Tong Tan Kongsi
- 28 Seh Tan Court (off Beach Street)
Tong Yeoh Kongsi
- Chulia Street Ghaut
Hokkien Kongsi Penang
Past & Present more
Cheng Sin Temple.
The Hokkien Kongsi occupies the upper left wing of the Hock Teik Cheng
Sin Temple. It is formed by the board of trustees of the Big Five
Hokkien Clan Associations of Penang, namely the Seh Tek Tong Cheah
Kongsi, the Leong San Tong Khoo Kongsi, the Kew Leong Tong Lim Kongsi,
the Eng Chuan Tong Tan Kongsi and the Sit Teik Tong Yeoh Kongsi.
The Hock Teik
Cheng Sin Temple at 57 Armenian Street, Penang is
essentially a community temple devoted to the worship of Tua Peh Kong
(God of Prosperity & Morality). This unique double-storey temple,
built in the 1850's houses four affiliated societies, namely, Tong
Kheng Seah, Poh Hock Seah, Cheng Hoe Seah and Hokkien Kongsi.
In the 19th Century, it served
as the headquarters of Kean Teik Tong,
also known as the Tua Peh Kong Kongsi which was founded in 1844. The
Chinese Traders Society took over the ownership of the temple property
in 1890 through legal process. Today, the Hock Teik Cheng Sin Temple
stands as a permanent reminder of the progress achieved by the
Penang Chinese Hokkien community.
- Penang Tourism Action Council.